I will never forget my first college wine tasting experience. I was over at a guy friend’s apartment and he busted out a bottle of wine. I was surprised and intrigued. He never showed any kind of interest in wines before, why now? He didn’t even have a wine glass in the kitchen.

What else did he not have? A de-corker. So, his roommate was called out and I watched two grown men and a knife battling against a bottle of wine.  Certainly a night to remember.

Then there was the time when my boyfriend and I packed a picnic including a bottle of sparkling wine and went out to a grassy area to have a nice romantic time. Well, I forgot my bottle opener/de-corker at home. We ended up walking a mile to the nearest hotel to borrow one to open up the bottle. (Thanks Waterfront Hotel!) Not the most romantic thing. I was mad at myself and mad at the bottle.

So, why do wine bottles even need a cork? I have come across some bottles that have a twist off top, so obviously it is possible. But why?

The cork has been used for thousands of years to seal a bottle of wine. If you would like the entire history, check out George M. Taber’s article. He calls the sound of the bottle opening one of the few sounds in the world that brings true joy to the listener. He talks about the entire history of the cork and why it may soon be an endangered species.

It seems like the only real reason I can find is that cork is elastic and nearly impenetrable. And of course, to make drinking it very inconvenient at times. But, I think I have learned my lesson by now.

Anyone else have a good story about not being able to open a corked wine? Or have a better idea of why they are even used?

