Well, I may have made my first mistake this week with my wine choice. I stopped off at the store on a whim, before I was able to do good research beforehand. I went to the wine aisle and blindly went to an area that I thought could be interesting (my goal is to get to all of them anyway, right?). I decided Riesling would be my choice of wine this week.

I was in a rush and thought I would just pick two from two different regions. One from Italy and one from Washington State. What I should have done, was do my research and found out that those two locations are not necessarily known for their Riesling wines. Germany and France are apparently where all of the best Riesling is made. Fail on my part. So, the wine that I got was not wonderful, but here is my critique.

The interesting thing about Riesling is that it is a white wine and not classified as sweet or dry because depending how the wine is made it can either be dry, semi-sweet or sweet. This is really strange to me and what makes it really hard is that some bottles do not specify what they classify their liquid gold as. My question is, how can someone say that they like Riesling if it can be so versatile?

Movendo (Riunite) Riesling: This is an Italian brand of the Riesling that I got. The plus side is that this is not expensive wine. Some areas can get it for 6.99 for a regular bottle (and it is a pretty bottle!). However, although it did not specify on the bottle, was very dry. I found myself making a face after drinking it. I do not know if it was my inexperience with dry wines or not, but this caused me to not notice any other kind of flavor that may have been present. This brand describes it’s use of green apple and lime but I could not get this taste. I know my mom buys other, regular Riunite wines, but I know I will no longer buy this Movendo again.

Barnard and Griffin 2009: This $10 wine made in Washington State definitely had a much stronger flavor to me than the Movendo. I think I am still deciding how much I liked that flavor. It had more of a tangerine and apple flavor to it and had a funny aftertaste to me. Again, I am disappointed.

The thing that I find most interesting is how different these two wines tasted. However, I am not ruling out Riesling yet! I have decided that since these two brands were so different and I did not try it from it’s ideal region, I am going to give it another chance! There will be a round II of Riesling for me!

